Weight Disk Identification Chart

Threw this together today. A handy resource, especially after seeing so many people call wide survivor and wide defense fake, haha. It’s a full chart of every weight disk produced for the plastic generation, an image and name of each.
Will have a more informative guide to weight disks in the near future, but yeah. Enjoy!

Note: Sizes Not To Scale

Click for Full Size (So you can read the notes ‘n’ stuff)

As it says, the Gyro WD and Weight Ring are fake, but I lack authentic ones, and they’re decent fakes. There are a lot of fake Gyro WD’s out there, they were fairly common from a few fake manufacturers to beef up their cruddy fakes (there are actually whole fake Bearing Gyros, too). Real ones are much “cleaner” and have nicely bevelled edges rather than the abrupt rounding of the fakes, but generally, it’s hard to tell. Either way, not tournament legal, and nor is Weight Ring, which is only compatible with the silly hidden spirit base from Hayate and the various clones of that.

I’d have posted this for BeyWiki, but my photography isn’t up to the standards. Oh well.

About th!nk

I like spinning tops more than I probably should.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Weight Disk Identification Chart

  1. Janstarblast says:

    Aaaand, that was AMAZING! Extremely helpful, you know!
    I fail to understand though, why is Wide Defense superior to Wide Survivor? The latter is more circular…

    • th!nk says:

      I am glad.
      Basically, I covered it in the Wide Defense article I wrote, but Wide Survivor is the lightest weight disk available, whilst Wide Defense is middleweight. Given weight disks are the main source of weight for plastics beys, wide survivor just doesn’t have enough for anything other than stamina.

  2. Sparta says:

    Hm, that’s really helpful. Thanks! Just one quick question: as far as the Hasbro MG WD goes, is there any differences in it between the ones you listed above? And does a certain MG WD come with certain beyblades, or is it a booster pack-type thing?

    • th!nk says:

      Not really sure what the mold distribution for MG WD is like, sorry. It’s hard to tell because of the small number of plastic beys available to check, and people swapping weight disks and so on, it’s hard to find small details like that.

      I think the Hasbro ones usually use the second mold, but I’m honestly not sure, as I said, it’s so hard to find that kind of information.

      What I assume is that they switched to the connected mold later and then only produced that, but again, I really cannot be sure at all, and it could even be the other way around (though I’d be surprised if they moved to a more fragile design).

  3. Massimo says:

    Hello Th!ink. Very old article I know… But this question sometimes comes back to my mind through the yars. Do you know what was the period of release for the first wide defense and wide survivor? This is because some times I like to relive the very first period of the game. Before the S beys was released. I’ve never discovered if those 2 weight disks was already released.

    • th!nk says:

      Massimo, I remember some good conversations and I’m feeling a little nostalgic today, so I’ll try to remember what I can – I’m very rusty though.

      I believe both were early releases. Wide Survivor was very early, I’m fairly certain it appeared in the first Spin Up Guidebook (alongside a much more intimidating weight disk that may have been labelled the same in the book, I forget – maybe it was Gyro WD as above, or maybe it was a completely solid one? I don’t know, all I remember was something in there bugging me). That book dealt with the earliest releases, back when much more significant modification was allowed. I vaguely recall it actually got a full release of its own, maybe as Spark Disc, check the product number list or whatever it’s called. Pretty much certain Wide Survivor was pre-S series.

      Wide Defense I’m less certain about, I also strongly recall it being early, but only to the extent of “S Series or Earlier” – that is, it might have been during the S Series.
      It would be worth looking up info on the contents of random boosters – there was a thread or two on that, which was pretty solid, before I left, and that might have the information. It may also have had a standard release, but I don’t recall that. It was included in the OTC (Super) Accessory Pack, here numbered H-6…: http://www.theintoy.co.uk/super-accessory-pack-p-65.html
      … but I don’t recall whether the H numbers gave a specific release period or whatever (I think I knew a lot more about it once, dunno if I removed links to it from my signature but I think I once wrote something about it and had it in there, maybe?)
      If it was S-Series, I’d think it’d have been right near the start. Sorry I can’t be more help on this one, as I’m sure it’d have a significant effect on the balance of things.

      One thing to remember if you really want to dig into the early days, though, is the lack of a tornado ridge. Has a pretty significant effect on things, especially with plastics. Not always in a way that I like, but it’s definitely interesting and a significant part of the vintage feel (though the full extent would be going pretty much all-out “wild west”, no rules etc, on it, as in that first guidebook).

      Hope that’s some help, sorry I can’t offer more.

      If anyone else is reading this, sorry if I haven’t got back to emails etc, I have to be in the right mood to feel up to revisiting this chapter of my life, and it doesn’t come along often – I’m more open to talking about other stuff, but I’m still really bad at getting back to people either way. Sorry I suck, or whatever.

      – Alex

      • Massimo says:

        I appreciate that you’ve taken the time for answering even if you’re not in beyblade anymore.

        In fact that helped me! I own that spin up book and now I figure that the spark disk released it’s a “prototype” of wide survivor. In that book wide survivor it’s not pictured but we can see that spark disk it’s exactly the same exept for the 2 “fuse holes” for the sparks. Wide survivor still have those holes without the fuse so it’s clearly a “re-mold” of spark disk. When this “re-mold” of official wide survivor were released it’s still unkown to me, but probably after S series because it’s not pictured in the book without the Fuses for sparks.

        For wide defense I’m not sure the article for random boosters in the WBO it’s reliable. It says that random booster 1 had the very first 5 beys released and both wide defense and wide survivor, that would be like both WD were available before grip attacker release… mmm, Wide survivor doesn’t appear in the spin up book, just the spark disk. Plus I’ve found a picture of a random booster that’s one of the first 3 and the content it’s completly different from the 3 posted on the article: http://www.jauce.com/auction/s477149336

        Anyway I’m kind of sure that it was released before S series because in the spin up book all the parts released are pictured in order of release, and the wide defense is just before the 8 sides WD released with the S beys, next the red heavy attack WD. Maybe those 2 were a special release.

        For the stadium, in fact, I’ve searched trough the years for a takara plastic stadium, to play exactly how the game was played those days but I never found one.

        Oh, and you touched an argument that I’m very interested: The strange modifications that appears in that book. I know that in WBO tournaments are not legal but I don’t really care about WBO rules… what you think/know about official takara tournaments? maybe in beyblade any modification made with official beyblade parts and without glue was legal? no matter what? Those modifications are crazy :) very stimulating.

        Thanks for answering, You gave me a couple of points to think and search on that taken me to a more clear point. I hope to hear you again :)

        • th!nk says:

          I didn’t compile those lists myself so I can’t guarantee their accuracy, but I believe they were based on pictures or otherwise solid information. I’d agree that the discs were likely listed last due to being special releases. It’s also possible they didn’t bother differentiating WS from Spark Disc (I recall it being called both in the book?)

          As for that booster, it’s interesting – I’ve never heard of it before, and it’s not a standard random booster, it’s labelled Bey Cube Booster (likely due to the shape of the pack). There’s no information on those colors (aside from Red Galeon, which had numerous releases) in the relevant beywiki articles that I checked, however I’ve seen the Pink Galzzly and I believe I actually own a Purple Smash Turtle (though it could come from elsewhere). It’s not a random booster, but you should post it in the most recent of the plastics RB lists and if anyone still works on them, remind them to make a backup of the page as it’ll probably disappear soon.

          According to a friend who lived in Takara country at the time, there were very few rules, and the crackdown was a result of parents with the resources to do so creating overpowered beyblades with very large, heavy, round weight disks or the like, for their children to dominate tournaments with. This may have varied from country to country and is only the recollection of a friend. Nonetheless, that book already shows a very wide range of customization. However, by the time of their release, Gyro WD and the non-AR parts of the hidden spirits were illegal from the get go, so they must have started clamping down around then. I forget what the initial ruling on the Bearing Gyros AR was. Either way, things were very loose at the start and probably gradually became tighter before really tightening up around the time I mentioned. Just a guess, though.

          I believe that spark disc itself was eventually made illegal, but removing the spark paper and flint leaves you with a wide survivor anyway. At the point you’re focussed on, both Spark Disc and removing the flint and paper from Spark Disc (leaving wide survivor) were probably legal, so I’d still say that it’s fine for your purposes.

          I’m not incredibly familiar with early stadia, particularly the dimensions, but the closest thing available may actually be fake MFB stadiums. Alternatively, it’s possible sonokong released something similar, if those products are still around.

        • Massimo says:

          Ok, thanks for all the informations Alex! :) I’ll try to find more informations on random booster one, like images (I can’t find one on internet…) date o f release, content ecc. If wide defense and wide survivor/spark disc were both available in that RB, maybe it was first release for wide defense.
          Thank you! :)

  4. hiwatari117 says:

    hey, very nice comparison chart :) i just have a doubt regarding MG WDs. I have about 5 of them and i believe they are all mold 1. As you know this comes with the problem of the plastic shell flying off when spun. Is there any way to make them fixed in place?

    • th!nk says:

      Not legally, no. It was an incredibly poorly thought-out design decision on Takara’s part but rules are rules.

      Aside from that, adhesive, but most strong adhesives damage beys (mgwd edges might be a non-susceptible type of plastic but I wouldn’t risk it), even plastics glues do some dissolving to do their work, so you’ll need to do some research.

Thoughts/Comments/Corrections/Criticisms/Insults?

